Bollywood actor, producer, director and singer, Farhan Akhtar will be attending the 17th annual Asian Achievers Awards, tying in with the theme of this year’s event, which centres around the fields of Media, Art and Culture. The awards will be held on Friday 22nd September and celebrate South Asian excellence at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane. Bollywood singer, actress and model, Raageshwari will join former Eastenders star Nitin Ganatra to host the glittering ceremony.


This year, women have stormed the 17th annual Asian Achievers Awards nominees list, with 22 of the 36 shortlisted contenders being female. It is one of the few times that any awards event, Asian or otherwise, has women outnumbering male nominees. The nominees include, Vanita Patel MBE of Anti-Slavery International; England cricketer Haseeb Hameed; playwright, Tanika Gupta MBE; ground-breaking chemist, Sir Shankar Balasubramanian FRS and BBC journalist, Tina Daheley (See full list below).

Since launching, The Asian Achievers Awards has helped to raise millions of pounds for various charities and this year, the chosen charity partner is the Akshaya Patra Foundation, whichworks to eradicate classroom hunger and facilitate childhood education by serving freshly cooked, nourishing lunches to 1.6 million school children across India every day. The Asian Achievers Awards is proud to announce EY, a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services, as its headline sponsor. Also sponsoring are Shanti Hospitality and Edwardian Hotels, with Colors TV on board as Media Partner.


Achievement in Community Service

Akeela Ahmed – Founder of She Speak We Hear

Davinder Kaur BEM – Chief Executive of SWEDA

Saba Nasim BEM – Cricket Coach/Lawyer

Vanita Patel MBE – Anti-Slavery International


Sports Personality of the Year

Haseeb Hameed – England Cricketer

Neethu Haridas – Footballer

Sivakumar Ramasamy – Taekwondo Coach

Tania Nadarajah – Paralympian


Business Person of the Year

Poonam Gupta OBE – PG Paper Company Ltd

Shahid Sheikh OBE – Clifton Packaging Group

Surinder Arora – Arora Group

Zuber Issa & Mohsin Issa – Euro Garages


Entrepreneur of the Year

Arjuna Gihan Fernando OBE – Founder, Freeformers

Alick Varma – CEO of Osper

Lisa Sohanpal – Founder of Nom Noms World Food

Madhuban Kumar – CEO of Metafused


Woman of the Year

Dr Faiza Shaheen – Director of CLASS

Jagdeep Rai – Head of Corporate Banking at Barclays

Shivvy Jervis –  Digital Specialist

Dr Tara Swart – Neuroscientist


Professional of the Year

Fayyaz Afzal OBE – Barrister

Maneesh Juneja – Digital Health Futurist

Prof Sanjay Sharma – Cardiologist

Sir Shankar Balasubramanian FRS – Chemist


Achievement in Media

Angela Saini – Science Journalist & Author

Coco Khan – Journalist at The Guardian

Tanika Gupta MBE – Playwright

Tina Daheley – Broadcast/Journalist at BBC


Achievement in Arts & Culture

Amrit Kaur Lohaim – Sarangi Player

Nanita Desai – Composer

Paul Sinha – Comedian

Ryan Chetiyawardana – Internationally Acclaimed Bartender


Uniformed & Civil Service

Anuja Ravindra Dhir QC – Judge

Lieutenant Brijinder Singh Nijjar – Army

Kulbir Pasricha – Kent Police

Sharan Ghuman MBE – UK home Office



Load More By admin
Load More In Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Tabba Heart Institute Celebrates World Heart Day in collaboration with Cycologistrides : “Pedal for a Healthy Heart”

It’s that time of the year where globally, awareness related to cardiovascular diseases is…